New free LibriVox recording: The Feast of St. Friend

Just released: The Feast of St. Friend, a Christmas Book by the inimitable Arnold Bennett.

http://librivox.org/the-feast-of-st-friend-by-arnold-bennett/

It is hard to believe it was published 100 years ago.

Something has happened to Christmas, or to our hearts ; or to both. In order to be convinced of this it is only necessary to compare the present with the past.

Bennett himself came from a strongly Methodist family, but this is not a religious book. This is about the significance of the festival of Christmas for everyone, Christian or not.

Thought-provoking, wry and amusing as always, Arnold Bennett offers no easy solutions but has certainly given me something to think about. I hope you find the same.

Also in progress: another of Dicken’s Christmas stories and a mysterious romance. These will be available soon.

After that, I will be completing Volume 2 of Henry Lucy’s East by West, and returning to my old favourite Cleek for more adventures with Dollops and Inspector Narkom of the Yard. Lots of fun to come.

Explore posts in the same categories: Latest recordings, Non-fiction, Uncategorized

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “New free LibriVox recording: The Feast of St. Friend”

  1. Liam Says:

    Dear Ruth,

    I can’t say how much I enjoyed the Arnold Bennett Christmas book. Indeed it is quite a shock to note that the issues discussed a century ago are so much like the ones that arise now — long before Bertrand Russell, Stephen Hawking, Richard Dawkins and Christopher Hitchens, Of course when Bennett spoke of the wonders of the heavens there was but one galaxy, whereas now there are billions, the wonder itself has not really needed updating.

    Bennett’s language is stunning, rivals the above greats and is so much more beautiful though your reading of it.

    Thank you,
    Liam

  2. RuthieG Says:

    Thank you, Liam. Yes, it was a real eye-opener, wasn’t it? The more I read, the less able I was to believe that it had been written so long ago. I must see if I can find some more of his unrecorded treasures.

    Ruth

  3. Joanna Says:

    More Cleek! How wonderful. May I say how much I adore your recording of Cleek – you put in just the right amount of “jolly Britishness” – or do I mean Englishness? and some tongue in cheek about that precise jolliness, concern that someone is or isn’t a gentleman, etc. Superb. Thank you.

    • RuthieG Says:

      I am in the happy position of never quite knowing whether to say British or English when people ask. I do like a bit of jolly Britishness. πŸ˜† I am not quite 100% English, as there is a bit of Welsh in me too. πŸ˜‰ Certainly in the time of Cleek and the Empire, Britishness was certainly the most important criterion. Cleek of Scotland Yard is now set up and ready to go, as soon as I have made progress on a couple of other things. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

