My first commercial audiobook

I am rather excited to tell you I have recorded an audiobook for a new audiobook publisher called Iambik Audio, which launches today.

From the Iambik site:

“Iambik is a bit different from traditional audiobook publishers, though. We partner with print publishers and authors, and work with a collective of skilled independent audiobook makers around the world. We record new books and old ones, great books that have been overlooked by traditional audio publishers.

It’s great to be given the opportunity to record more recent books, and some of my other good pals at LibriVox are also involved. Rest assured though, my good listeners, that my LibriVox output will be undiminished.

The Edge of Eden by Helen Benedict is rather different from those I have recorded up to now. It is set in 1960 in the island paradise of Seychelles, and this quote from the book’s summary may give you some idea: 😉

Benedict’s acerbic wit and evocative descriptions serve up a page-turner brimming with jealousy, sex, and intrigue in this ominous Eden.

Ruth

Explore posts in the same categories: Commercial recordings, Uncategorized

6 Comments on “My first commercial audiobook”

  1. Don Says:

    I did not think I was going to like it as it started insipid but soon found it was anything but!!
    It was bloody brilliant and I could not “put it down” (so to speak) until the end. The book was great (I had read “The Lonely Soldier” so already knew and appreciated the author) but the narration was out of this world. It was hard to believe the voices were not the voices of a cast of a dozen people – including a three year old!
    It is very subjective but I felt the audio quality was better than Ruth’s Librevox recordings. Was this just my imagination?
    I loved it!
    Don

    • RuthieG Says:

      Thank you, Don! No, it wasn’t your imagination – I have a new microphone, and all current and future LibriVox recordings will also be of higher audio quality. 🙂

  2. Don Says:

    So it was just the Blue Yeti? I had thought maybe they had transported you to a pro sound studio……. and a week in the Ritz 🙂

  3. RuthieG Says:

    No, Don, just the Blue Yeti. 😆

  4. Gesine Says:

    Hi Ruth

    Just finished listening to The Edge of Eden. Have to agree with Don – the narration was completely brilliant. I loved the book, too, and it was made special by your reading. I’m positive I wouldn’t have enjoyed it as much had I read it by myself (I mean silently). All the different voices were great, and how did you manage to speak Creole so fluently?

    I love your LibriVox recordings, but it’s also so nice to hear you tackle a contemporary author. I much look forward to your upcoming iambik recordings!

    • RuthieG Says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed it, Gesine. I suspect that a Creole speaker might not agree about my competence in that regard, but I ‘did me best’ as they say. I am looking forward to my next iambik book too, which is a very different kind indeed. Watch this space for a post soon! 🙂


Leave a Reply

