New LibriVox recording: The Human Machine

After a long hiatus owing to poor health I am back, and have at last released my latest LibriVox recording. This time it is The Human Machine, another shortish work by Arnold Bennett (1867-1931).

In this Olympic year in particular, much has been made about the benefits of physical excellence. Nobody has mentioned the importance of mental excellence, and indeed the ability even to use one’s brain seems to be sadly neglected in this brave new world of ours.

Those of us whose bodies are not capable of athletic prowess (and in my current state, I certainly include myself in that), can still improve our lives by training and controlling our own ‘human machine’. However frustrating we find aspects of our lives, all is not lost. ;)

Bennett speaks to me. I hope that he speaks to you, and that the listener too, as Bennett wrote, “will be surprised at the miracles which lie between his collar and his hat, in that queer box that he calls his head.”

And, as always, Bennett writes so beautifully, so mellifluously.

Here it is:
http://librivox.org/the-human-machine-by-arnold-bennett/

You may also be interested in my earlier Arnold Bennett recordings:

Mental Efficiency
The Feast of St. Friend
Self and Self-management: Essays about Existing

Soon to come: 310 pages, or nearly 10 hours, of… rubbish. You will be enthralled. :D

Explore posts in the same categories: Latest recordings, Non-fiction, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “New LibriVox recording: The Human Machine”


  1. OT, but just want to say I’m a fan. I found I can use Librivox on minimal internet with my mobile phone, and find it invaluable as I write up my PhD. I loved your Flat Land. I find it very helpful to listen to a variety of readers, to hear what makes a good one, and you’re up there with the best.

    Anyway, enough cyber stalking for now. BW, Zak


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

