LibriVox and Charles Dickens

I may be a day late as Dickens’s birthday was yesterday, but we at LibriVox will be working away throughout the 200th anniversary year to bring you as many of Dickens’s lesser-known works as possible.

Already, there are LibriVox recordings of all his great novels – many have a choice of recordings. Now, we are working our way through his other works, including short stories, magazine articles, letters, speeches and poetry.

Volume 1 of our Charles Dickens 200th Anniversary Collection was released yesterday on the great man’s birthday, and we have several more volumes in progress.

This volume has short stories, articles, speeches and poetry. If you have never managed to get to grips with one of his vast novels, do try listening to some of his shorter stories, or one of his rants about the many things that he disagreed with. He is remarkably funny at times.

http://librivox.org/charles-dickens-200th-anniversary-collection-vol-1-by-charles-dickens/

You may also be interested in the short Dickens-flavoured podcast that I hosted this week. Lucy Perry, Martin Geeson and Andy Minter tell us why they have come to like Dickens, and there are short excerpts of some recordings too, to give you an idea of what there is to enjoy.

http://librivox.org/2012/02/02/librivox-community-podcast-123/

Explore posts in the same categories: English fiction (contributions), Uncategorized

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “LibriVox and Charles Dickens”

  1. Thomas van Iersel Says:

    Just commented on the thread asking to read a section, can’t wait to start!

    • RuthieG Says:

      Excellent, Thomas! We’re now on to Volume 4 of the 200th Anniversary Collection, and I am finding it hard to keep up with all the readers who are volunteering. :)


  2. I just listened to “The Chimes” by Charles Dickens and enjoyed
    your wonderful recording ………… Thank you so much!

  3. Bel Says:

    Oh Ruthie, what a wonderful podcast! I only came across this blog post of yours now, but I’d still like to comment. :) I’ve listened my way through a lot of the Dickens’ recordings on LibriVox (the last one I finished was ‘Our mutual Friend’, next on my list is ‘Barnaby Rudge’. Being German, I never was introduced to Dickens in school. Of course I knew the televised versions of ‘Oliver Twist’ and ‘A Christmas Carol’, but the first Dickens book I actually read was ‘Great Expectations’. It was a bit of tough going; I put it aside, then forgot about it for years, but on rediscovering it, I eventually finished reading it. I listened to the LibriVox recording, too, of course. I think I’d have a hard time reading Dickens novels, but listening to the librivox recordings is great joy. Afterwards, I watched every BBC mini series I could get hold of, and they generally do a fine job of it (although I was slightly annoyed with their version of ‘Little Dorrit’, but that’s neither here nor there). I have now subscribed to the librivox podcast and will try to work my way through the archive. I’ve said it elsewhere but repeat it here: thank you for all you do on librivox. Claudia


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

