New LibriVox recording: The Wonderful Garden

Here, at long last, is The Wonderful Garden, or the Three C.s by Edith Nesbit. Sorry you have had to wait so long for it, owing to unforeseen and unwanted circumstances, but the good thing is that it is catalogued this year – exactly 100 years after it was first published.

It is a delightful book. E. Nesbit always charms both children and adults. I love the way she pops up as the author from time to time. It is dated, of course – children who know Latin… and wear their school blazers during the holidays… and have servants… and play pretend games about Arabs and Red Indians. But oh, I did enjoy it, and I hope you will too.

It is a book that few will have read – there is still no online text for it, and I bought a first edition just so that I could record it. Battered and well-read it was, and must have been enjoyed by many children.

Here is the LibriVox catalogue page: http://librivox.org/the-wonderful-garden-or-the-three-c-s-by-e-nesbit/

Or direct links are available on the Books for Children page of this blog.

Gore Vidal wrote a most interesting article in 1964 about Edith Nesbit, which is available here.

Explore posts in the same categories: Books for children, English fiction (solo recordings), Latest recordings, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

7 Comments on “New LibriVox recording: The Wonderful Garden”

  1. Jenna Says:

    Ms. Golding – I wanted to stop by and say how much I love the reading of Wuthering Heights you did for Librivox. It’s absolutely amazing. Anytime someone brings up this title I send them over to that site and tell them they have to take a listen. Such talent!

    I will be looking through your other releases as well and looking forward to listening to them.

    ~ Jenna

  2. RuthieG Says:

    Thank you, Jenna. It was a challenge to record such a well-loved classic. Everyone has his own idea of what Cathy and Heathcliff should sound like, and I can appreciate that some people may not like my interpretation. I’m glad you do!

  3. Jessica Says:

    My son and I are listening to your recording of The Wonderful Garden in our car ride to school in the mornings. Your reading is wonderful (as is the story!). Thank you so much for your contribution.

    • RuthieG Says:

      Thank you, Jessica. It is so encouraging to me when listeners get in touch. I love Edith Nesbit’s books for children. You may also enjoy The Magic World and The Magic City – I just loved recording those.

      Ruth

      • Jessica Says:

        I’ve just downloaded The Magic World and The Magic City. We’re still listening to The Enchanted Castle (not recorded by you), so it’ll be a bit before we get to those two. Thank you so, so much. I know I’m repeating myself, but your reading is so lovely and it gives us both so much pleasure.

      • RuthieG Says:

        I am so glad you are enjoying them, Jessica. I do love E. Nesbit… You may repeat yourself just as often as you like. I love it. :)

        Ruth

  4. Deidre Says:

    Ms. Golding,
    I absolutely loved your recording of this book! Your voices were amazing, and you really brought the book to life. Thank you SO much for going to all of the trouble to make it available. I can’t believe that this particular book has never made it onto Gutenberg, or even been reprinted! I love E. Nesbit’s style, how she addresses her readers in such a friendly way and how natural her child characters are.

    Many thanks again,
    Deidre


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

